Our-Founder
Merwais Azizi
我们的创始人 Mirwais Azizi 的故事不仅仅是他历年来如何开展业务的历程,也是他凭借优秀的企业家创新精神、匠心独运的设计以及卓越的经营方式书写成功故事的典范。下面是他本人亲自讲述的故事。
Mirwais AZIZI

我是 Mirwais,我的父亲是 Abdul Aziz。但是在许多国家人们都是通过我的父姓 Azizi 认识我。我在 1962 年生于阿富汗喀布尔,五岁起开始在喀布尔上学,一直到完成法学专业课程。

从法学院毕业后,我从80 年代中期至 1988 年在阿富汗的一家律师事务所工作。在这一年里阿富汗战争开始了,就像任何一个父亲和有家室的人一样,为了保护我的家人,我别无选择,只能离开阿富汗。

不久以后,我决定与家人离开祖国前往乌兹别克斯坦,当时我的身上只有 700 美元。抵达乌兹别克斯坦之后,我还剩 500 美元。我与一位朋友见了面,他是一位阿富汗商人,我请他借给我5000美元以帮助我和家人移民到欧洲。

朋友愿意借给我这笔钱,甚至更多,但是他建议我留在乌兹别克斯坦开创自己的事业。我出身于一个受过良好教育的家庭,家里面没有人拥有创业经验或做过什么生意。

我听从了朋友的建议,在纺织制造业开始了我的第一次创业且六个月内,我赚到了人生第一个 100 万美元。那时我只有两名员工:是司机 Sergei和会计 Baser。我拿着这笔钱打算到欧洲创业,买个房子,举家搬迁于彼。我提出分享我的收入,给会计 20 万美元,用剩下的 80 万美元用作家庭未来之用。但是会计建议我继续留在乌兹别克斯坦直到挣到 500 万美元,我想方设法在五个月内实现这个目标,然后会计建议我们应该前往欧洲。那时,我对乌兹别克斯坦的商业环境和市场了然于心,于是我决定继续留在这里。

当时的我年轻气盛,雄心勃勃,一直在寻找新机遇,于是我涉足保加利亚的烟草业务。这在苏联时期在那个国家是首开先河,许多国家都抽保加利亚制造的香烟,不久以后我成为烟草进口商和俄罗斯联邦国家的官方香烟经销商。那时我在俄罗斯、乌克兰、保加利亚、哈萨克斯坦、乌兹别克斯坦、波兰等 20 多个国家设立办事处。随着业务不断壮大,我把家搬到乌兹别克斯坦首都塔什干。

1994 年,一位员工来到我的办公室提议进口两种很受欢迎的烟草品牌云丝顿(Winston)和马格南(Magna)。当时还没有互联网和市场调研这些可以让我作出明智决策的工具。我打了几通电话,更多地了解这两个品牌及其在本地区的官方经销商。很快我了解到这家公司位于阿联酋沙迦,公司名称是“Al Ofuq”。

联系阿联酋经销商之后,我决定进口两集装箱香烟,价值 15 万美元。在集装箱抵达塔什干的当天,成交价达 30 万美元,这令我热情高涨,于是我又订购了 50 集装箱。随着我们与阿联酋经销商的业务关系逐渐加深,该公司总经理来到塔什干与我会面。他详细了解了我们的公司,同时邀请我到访其位于阿联酋的办事处。

一周以后我抵达阿联酋,那是我第一次看到迪拜和沙迦,在这段时间里我的思维得到了开阔,想要探索阿联酋存在的可能性,包括良好的教育体制、医疗保健和社会安全。这促使我决定将业务和家人搬到阿联酋,在这里安家立业,送孩子去上学。

1998 年,我结束了烟草业务,开始开展石油工业贸易,我拥有自己的产品和品牌,出口许多国家。14 年之后的 2002 年,我回到我的祖国阿富汗。我所看到的竟是人民和国家被摧毁殆尽。我发现这里的人发生了巨大的变化。起初我以为是我变了,因为我长期生活在国外。但是后来我意识到这是战争带来的后果。所以,我决定通过以下三种方式帮助阿富汗人民:

第一,我在阿富汗石油行业开展投资,创立业务,帮助国家创造更多工作岗位。在三个月的时间里,我们努力创造出 5000 个新的工作岗位,与此同时,通过基础设施和城镇建设项目,大力投资城市重建工程。最终我开发了 10000 套住宅和新的商业区。

第二,我投入到教育业的发展中。我想创建国际化教育体制,于是我在喀布尔开办了阿富汗美国大学,在迪拜筹备第一次董事会议。这所大学是阿富汗第一家非营利性高等教育机构。今天,成千上万的学生接受大学教育,然后加入到阿富汗不同领域的工作团队之中。

第三,我成立了 Azizi 基金会,目的是帮助弱势群体过上更好的生活。基金会资助了许多学生的教育。

2006 年,AZIZI银行成立。该银行现在是阿富汗规模最大、实力最雄厚的金融机构。此后,AZIZI集团收购阿尔巴科塔银行(Al Bakhtar Bank),成为阿富汗发展最快速的银行之一。

2007 年,我在迪拜购买的第一块土地上成立了 AZIZI地产公司。我的动力是为给予我和我的家庭丰厚回报的城市做点什么。在我做生意的这些年经常出差,不能时刻陪伴在孩子身边,但我从不担心他们在阿联酋独自生活。迪拜为我的家庭带来了宁静祥和的生活,我想为这座城市做些事情,让我的孩子和子孙为我感到自豪。

2008 年,我们开始在迪拜销售期房。我们的销售额刚达到 10亿迪拉姆时,全球金融危机便开始了。大部分买家无法继续支付房款,我们退还了所有人的定金,还有一位客户至今仍未能联系上。2013 年,我们重新开始现有项目的建设,因此大获成功.

今天,我们比以往更加努力工作,在将所有人团结到一起的迪拜到处开发房地产项目。生活在这里的人感到安全舒适,这是阿联酋英明的领导人带来的必然成果,AZIZI地产公司将一直致力于支持阿联酋领导人的伟大愿景,使迪拜屹立于世界最佳城市之林。

Our Founder
Mirwais Azizi
Our founder story is way more than a chronological history of how he started the business. The story of Mirwais Azizi is above all an exemplary story of success through entrepreneur innovation, design and operational excellence. Here is the story of our founder in his own words.
Mirwais AZIZI

My name is Mirwais and my father’s name is Abdul Aziz. But publicly and in many countries the people knew me by my family’s name, Azizi. I was born in 1962 in Kabul, Afghanistan where I started my education journey at the age of five until I finished my law studies.

After graduating from the law school, I began working at a law firm in Afghanistan from the mid-80s until 1988. During this year, the war in Afghanistan started and just like any father and family man, I was left with no option but to leave the country to protect the lives of my family.

Shortly afterwards I made the decision to move to Uzbekistan with my family leaving my home county with only USD 700 in my pocket. After arriving in Uzbekistan, I was left with USD 500, while I met with a friend – a fellow Afghani and businessman who I asked to lend me a USD 5,000 to help me to emigrate to Europe with my family.

My friend was willing to give me this money and even more, but he advised me to stay in Uzbekistan and start my own business. I come from a well-educated family, however, no one in my family had entrepreneurial experience or had owned their own business.

I listened to my friend’s advice and I started my first business in textile manufacturing, within six months, I had earned my first USD 1 million. At that point, I had only two employees – a driver named Sergei, and an accountant named Baser. With this money I planned to start a business in Europe and buy a house and relocate my family there. I offered to share my earnings and give my accountant USD 200,000 and use the remaining USD 800,000 to set up a future for my family. But, my accountant recommended that I should stay in Uzbekistan until I had earned USD 5 million which I managed to do this within five months and then my accountant suggested we should move to Europe. At that time, I had already developed a good understanding of the business environment and market in Uzbekistan so I made a decision to stay.

As a young ambitious entrepreneur and businessman, I was always looking for new opportunities, and so I ventured into the tobacco business in Bulgaria. It was the first of its kind in the country during the Soviet Union time were many countries smoked Bulgarian made cigarettes, and soon afterwards I became an importer and an official cigarette dealer in the Russian Commonwealth countries. At that time, I had multiple offices in more than 20 countries including Russia, Ukraine, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, and Poland. As my business grew, I relocated my family in Uzbekistan to the capital Tashkent.

In 1994, one of my employees came to my office with a proposal to import two popular cigarette brands which were called Winston and Magna. At that time there was no internet or available market research upon which I could make an informed decision. I made a few phone calls to find out more about these two brands and their official dealer for our region. Soon I learned it was a UAE based company located in Sharjah under the name “Al Ofuq”.

After contacting the dealer in UAE, I decided to import two containers with the value of USD 150,000 which were sold for USD 300,000 on the same day the containers arrived in Tashkent and that made me very enthusiastic and so, ordered 50 containers. Gradually, our business relation grew with the UAE based dealer and the General Manager of that company came to Tashkent to meet with me. He learned more about our business and at the same time he invited me to visit their office in the UAE.

A week later I arrived in the UAE and saw Dubai and Sharjah for the first time, during this time my mind was opened to the possibilities that the UAE presented, including a good education system, healthcare, and security. This led to my decision to relocate my business and my family to the UAE setting up a home and sending my children to school.

In 1998, I exited the tobacco business and started trading in the oil industry were I had my own product and label which was exported to many countries. In 2002, after 14 years, I returned to my homeland, Afghanistan. What I saw there were people and a country ruined. I noticed a huge difference in the people. Initially, I thought the change was me because I had been living abroad for quite some time. But then I realised it was the effect of the war. So, I decided to help the people in the following three ways:

Firstly, I invested in the country by starting a business in the petroleum sector so that I can help on creating more jobs for the nation and we managed to produce 5,000 new jobs within three months, while investing heavily in rebuilding the city through infrastructure and township projects. This led to the developments of 10,000 homes and new commercial areas.

Secondly I contributed to the developments of the education sector. I wanted to establish an international education system so I opened the American University of Afghanistan in Kabul and arranged the first board meeting in Dubai. The university is the first nonprofit higher education institution in Afghanistan. Today, thousands of students receive education through the university and join the work force in many different fields in Afghanistan.

Finally, was through the creation of Azizi Foundation, established with the objective of helping underprivileged people and families to live better lives. The foundation has sponsored the education of many students.

In 2006, Azizi Bank was established. The bank is now the largest and strongest financial institution in Afghanistan. Following this, Azizi Group acquired Al Bakhtar Bank which has become one of the fastest growing banks in Afghanistan.

In 2007, Azizi Developments was established in Dubai when I purchased our first land in the city. My motivation was to make something in a city that had given so much to my family and I. During the years I have been running my businesses, I was travelling frequently and couldn’t always be with my children, but not once I had to worry about my children being in UAE in their own. Dubai has given my family a peaceful life and I wanted to make something for this city that my children and grandchildren would be proud of.

In 2008, we started selling off-plan properties in Dubai. Once we had sold around AED 1 billion, the global financial crisis started. The majority of buyers could not continue payments and all of them were handed back their deposits except one client until today we were not able to reach. In 2013, we resumed the construction of existing projects and in doing so, we became very successful.

Today, we are working harder than ever and developing properties in many locations across Dubai, a place that unites all people. Those who live here feel safe, and this is an organic result for the wise and visionary leadership of UAE which Azizi Developments will always remain committed to by supporting its leader’s vision to put the city in the league of the best in the world.